A reminder

July 19, 2018

I was reminded today how unusual it may be to have a parent take responsibility for their actions or inaction. A friend shared with me her story. Her Dad didn’t raise her and he has yet to tell her how sorry he is to have missed so much of her life. What I realized as we talked is that her Dad missed out on knowing his daughter but he is continuing to miss out on not knowing his daughter and grandchildren. And she has also missed out in knowing him.

Her pain is so evident and I can feel her hurt. It is difficult to move forward when the past finds a way to creep into the present. I encouraged her to share her feelings with her Dad and not to assume he recognizes the pain still exists.

My story is different and I’m thankful my Dad has taken responsibility. He isn’t losing time today despite the fact we have missed many years together.

Leave a comment